Skip navigation

Main Menu

Global Menu




Member View

Lee, Yong-Hee

/ School of Physics

Prof. Yong-Hee Lee is the President of the Korea Institute for Advanced Study. He joined the Agency for Defence Development in 1979 and AT&T Bell Laboratories in 1987. In 1991, he joined the Department of Physics in KAIST. During his stay at AT&T Bell Laboratories, Prof. Lee pioneered and demonstrated the 850-nm proton-implanted top-emitting VCSELs in 1990 and holds the original patent on this industrially-accepted VCSEL. In 1991, he joined KAIST and has continued his researches on VCSELs. Recently his main interest lies on photonic nano-structures and nano-photonic integrated circuits. His laboratory demonstrated various forms of photonic crystal lasers. Within Korea, he has received the National Academy of Sciences Award (Natural Science) in 2002, the Science Prize (Physics) in 2010 from MOEST, and Korea Best Scientist Prize in 2015. He has co-authored over 180 papers related to nanophotonics, with cumulative citations of >12,000 and H-index of 56(Google Scholar). He advised and produced over 40 PhD students in physics during his stay at KAIST.

Lee, Yong-Hee
  • 2016-Present Korea Institute for Advanced Study, President
  • 1991-2016 KAIST, Physics Department, Assistant/ Associate/ Professor at KAIST
  • 1987-1991 AT&T Bell Laboratories, PostDoc/ Member of Technical Staff
  • 1979-1982 Agency for Defense Development, Researcher
  • 1986 Uninversity of Arizona, Ph. D in Optical Sciences
  • 1979 Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, MS in Physics
  • 1977 Seoul National University, BS in Physics
  • Korea Best Scientist Prize, Korea Federation of Sci. & Tech. Societies
  • Engineering Achievement Award, IEEE Photonics Society
  • Humboldt Prize, Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • Science Prize (Physics), Ministry of Education, Science, and Technology
  • Fellow, Optical Society of America
  • Fellow, IEEE
  • Distinguished Lecturer Award, IEEE/ LEOS
  • Academic Award (Natural Science), The National Academy of Science
  • Office:1203 / TEL) 82-2-958-3712 / FAX) 82-2-958-3710
  • School of School of Physics, Korea Institute for Advanced Study
    85 Hoegiro, Dongdaemun-gu, Seoul 02455, Korea